Ceramics, Silver and Seals!

The first church sale I went to this weekend had a $10 early bird. I’ve been to about 4 sales so far this season that have had $10 early bird fees that were really not worth it but I think this one was. There were lots of figurines, ceramics and small items marked $1 or $2 which gives you the opportunity to use your best judgement (there is no time to look anything up) and take some chances.

For $1 I picked up a ziploc bag filled with Hagen Renaker figures. When I sorted through them more than half of them were broken. I was left with 13. I listed them for $19 and they sold immediately. I think the sea gull figure is a rare one.

P1400627

I love the color on this turquoise bowl which was marked Red Wing. I know that is a good name in pottery so I purchased it for $2. When I got it home I saw that it had two long cracks on the inside plus a chip on the edge. After researching it, I believe it is a piece from the 1940’s and even with the condition issues I am still hoping to get at least $24 for it.

After buying a piece of Lladro last weekend I was on the look out and found this piece marked Nao Lladro. I don’t know what the difference is between this and regular Lladro. This girl reminded me of the Lladro ballerinas that my mother used to collect. Eventually most of the fingers on my mother’s pieces were damaged. I was happy to see that was not the case on this pretty figure. She was $2.

P1400619

Last year I purchased a bowl shaped like an eggplant from the company Mottahedeh. I remember that the bowl had a chip and would have sold for a lot if it was perfect. I think I ended up selling the damaged one for $25 after a while. So I recognized the name Mottahedeh when I saw it on the bottom of this trinket dish illustrated with a sailing ship. It was marked $1.

P1400615

This stone carving of a seal has a very charming look. It has a sticker that says Canada Eskimo art. It is very heavy. There is a big price range on these but I am hoping to get at least $19 for him. He was $2.

P1400590

There were many items there marked between $5 and $10 but I stayed away from those. I ventured into the jewelry room after the rush was over. Most items were marked $4.00. I picked up three items and I think two of them are good. One is a cat head pin marked 925 and the other is a panel and link bracelet with a pyramid design marked Sterling. Both are marked Mexico.

In the toy area I picked up two bags of Littlest Pet Shop toys for $3 each and a vintage Fisher Price little people set in the original box. I have not had time to photograph these items yet.

Later on in the day I went to two other community sales. At the first one I picked up a few items that were marked 25 cents including a vintage set of rainbow drip candles. I believe these were used in the 70’s to make craft projects using bottles. I picked up a paint by number of a German Shepherd and a Janie and Jack visor for a baby.

I arrived at the last sale fairly late and they were doing fill a bag for $5. I picked up a pretty vintage teapot and a set of delft tiles representing the four seasons.

The tag sales have really picked up around here – the challenge is to find the treasures at low prices!!

Leave a Reply

