Vintage Rosenthal, Anri and Christmas too!

The sales in my area finally seem to be picking up. Hooray! I went to a mix of sales this weekend. The first one had a $10 early bird and I found very little there. This was a community sale and I found out they have some kind of party the night before and I think people can shop. The tables looked like they were half empty. I don’t think they should charge an early bird in a case like that.

I found a good sale through a yard sale app on my phone while I was driving around. It was a community yard sale in a small building. I found one of my favorite things which is a little box filled with small treasures. The lady there charged me $1 for the whole box! Here’s the box before I looked through it.

P1390728

The item that I was interested was the small porcelain figure. It was marked Rosenthal Germany plus some other words, on the bottom. After researching him I believe he is called a child Satyr or faun. He is a mythical character – half human, half goat? He appears to be rare and I am hoping to get a good price for him.  He is also very strange with his Little Lord Fauntleroy haircut and his parts showing.

P1390775

Also in the box were these cute wooden figures on sleds marked Made in Russia.

P1390745

These three metal figures were in there too. They are only marked China so probably not particularly special or old but still kind of cool.

P1390772

There was this bride and groom pair of mice from Original Fur Toys of West Germany. I have sold some of these before but not the bride and groom. Unfortunately their condition is not great and their tails came off.

P1390756 - Version 2

On the tables at this sale I found a beautiful carved horse which turned out to be marked very faintly Anri Italy.

P1390739

It was marked $1! Also wooden and $1 was this little shoe which is also a box. I think it may be handmade. After researching, I believe it may be a snuff box.

I picked up this vintage two faced clown who was too funny/creepy to leave behind.

The last two items from this sale were a Harajuku Lovers purse with very fun, cool graphics and a small doll which is Kirsten’s rag doll from American Girl. They charged me $10 for everything I bought at this sale.

I stopped at a Girl Scout sale which was outdoors. It started raining and I think people were lowering their prices. I picked up this American Girl Felicity doll for $25.

P1390840

On Sunday I went to a Junk in the Trunk sale at a local High School. That’s where people drive their cars into a parking spot and set up tables to sell their items. I spent $12 there and this is what I bought.

Two vintage coach bags in TLC condition:

A Madame Alexander Madeline doll and a lego base plate from an Indiana Jones set:

And finally, two vintage chenille and plastic Santas which I don’t think I can part with just yet!

P1390798

I was happy to be able to buy some good items at reasonable prices and hoping that the tag sale season will continue this way! I hope you are finding great bargains where you are shopping!

4 responses to “Vintage Rosenthal, Anri and Christmas too!

  1. Fonda Rush

    Yeah, that was a bummer paying an early bird price when there was a sale/party the night before. I’m glad you could still find a few things at the other places. The shoe box is quite interesting and unusual.

  2. Thanks for visiting! I like the shoe box too!

  3. Nadine

    Congratulations on the finds! I wish I could go thrifting with you, but I am in Florida. I attended a church sale with my kids on Saturday. I usually gravitate to the clothes but I am learning a lot from you about other niches. I found that same NASA cabbage patch that you posted about a few weeks ago. Mine didn’t sell, but I think I priced it too high. You blogs help me from getting discouraged. Thank you!

    • It took me a long time but that astronaut cabbage patch finally sold last week.I had to bring the price down to $16, buyer paid $10.50 shipping. So just be patient with yours and I’m sure it will sell. Thank you for your kind words!

Leave a Reply

