Vintage Christmas, Barbie and Tiny Treasures

There were only a few good tag sales this weekend. I attended about 6 tag sales in all. I purchased items only at two. At the first sale I saw a box of vintage glass Christmas ornaments. I pulled out a small box of miniature ornaments and when I asked how much the lady said that I could have the whole box for $20. I took it but I wish I had bargained for a better price. Sometimes I freeze when I should be haggling. I split the ornaments into three lots. One lot included all the miniature ornaments. This lot sold already for $29. Most of the ornaments look like small lanterns. I like the small ball ornaments.

The other two lots are a group of 13 and a group of 11. They are regular sized ornaments. Some of them are very unique and beautiful. Some of these were marked Shiny Brite, West Germany or Poland. The lot of 13 includes many indent ornaments. I will have to do some careful packing for these!

The other thing I bought at this sale was a bag of old Barbie clothes. There were several bags there but I had to make a fast decision and only ended up choosing one. The items I lotted together wouldn’t sell for much individually (most for about $5). I love looking through bags like this. I especially like the pink bathroom scale and the hot water bottle.

P1390678

I also picked up a plush Mordecai from Cartoon Network’s “The Regular Show” which my son used to watch. That’s how I recognized him. I’m trying to get $18 for him. I also picked up a Kliban Cat Christmas mug.

The last thing from this sale is this vintage Snoopy coin bank. This looks like an early version of Snoopy. The stopper is marked Made in Taiwan. I’m hoping to get $19 for him.

P1390700

That sale was on Friday. On Saturday I went to four tag sales all together. Only one was good. The other three had overpriced junk. It’s one thing to have cheap junk. That’s fair – or good stuff that’s overpriced. Neither situation is good but at least they make sense. When you have bad items for high prices – it gets depressing! For example, one lady had generic handbags for $5 – $10 and baskets for $5. End of rant.

The sale that was fun had some neat vintage items for low prices. There was not a lot of great stuff for resale but I love to buy those small old charming things. I picked up a pencil box from 1960 that shows countries and their capitals, a nursery block with an image of the old lady who lived in a shoe, a renwal dollhouse red plastic table, a wooden man and, my favorite item which is a French candy shop jewelry box that looks like a house. I think it is from the 1960’s. The sticker on it says it was designed by Earl Bernard, made in Japan.

P1390694

Here is a close up of the house box.

P1390686

Those were the highlights for the weekend. I hope things will pick up after Easter. Hope you all are enjoying the holidays!

2 responses to “Vintage Christmas, Barbie and Tiny Treasures

  1. Wendy Boccuzzi

    hi Jill! Great eye again…love the vintage barbie. I just hit a couple sale in Ridgefield, the closest I could find. Got a couple things. Have a happy holiday!

Leave a Reply

