Thrifty Finds and a Visit to the Bins!

Not much yet in the way of exciting sales here. I attended one little flea market that had a White Elephant room. I found a few things there for $3. There was a small amount of jewelry on a table marked at 50 cents each. I picked up three pins. The first is a pewter pin that was marked Frederick Canada. After researching I discovered that it represents a stylized raven which is a symbol of knowledge and creativity. I have it up for $15. I picked up a Trifari pin of a leaf. Unfortunately it is missing several rhinestones so I am selling it as a repair piece. I am hoping to get $10 for it.

The third is a geometric style pin. I don’t have a testing kit so I took it to a jeweler. He tested it and said it is silver with gold plated lines. It looks like the opal is fake. (Would you call that a fauxpal? Ha ha)

P1390655

The other item that I picked up there is this sweet plush sleeping Bambi. It is also musical and plays a lullaby when you wind it up. It is by Gund and may bring around $30.

P1390624

I picked up this Japanese anime style doll at the thrift store. I think she is a Takara Jenny doll although she is not marked. She was in a doll bag for $2.99. I love her costume!

When I pulled her out of the bag I noticed she was wearing a necklace that didn’t seem to belong to her. It turned out to be a necklace for an American Girl doll tennis outfit. That’s called a freebie!

P1390522

Also at the thrift store I picked up a Winnie the Pooh trinket box featuring Pooh eating honey surrounded by pumpkins and other fall items. It was in a bag for $1.99 and I picked it up because I had recently sold a similar box for $12.99.

P1390537

My last purchase from the thrift store was this Today NBC mug featuring the logo of the morning show. You can drink your coffee and pretend to interview someone.

P1390515

I have a few days off this week so I decided to take a trip to the Bins which is the Goodwill Outlet store. I don’t go often because it is about 1 1/2 hours away from me. Including this trip I have been there a total of 4 times. The first 2 times were fairly successful. The last time I went was pretty unsuccessful (I sold only one item that I picked up on that day.) I don’t sell clothes usually so I go for the hard goods they have there. Today was the first time that I was actually there when they brought out new bins of hard goods so that was exciting. I think I found some good items and since it is pay by weight, I spent only $16.00.

One of my favorite items was this pair of Disney plush which is Mrs. Jumbo and her baby Dumbo. Their label says Disney Parks. I found Mrs. Jumbo first, and then, a few feet away, found Dumbo. It think they are really cute. Mrs. Jumbo is a good example of a secondary character from a movie that sells well. Often the main characters are so abundant that they have little value. I am hoping to get $30 for the pair.

P1390591

I picked up a pair of vintage My Little Pony tray puzzles from 1983. One of them has some writing on it but I am going to try for $12 for the pair.

P1390603

These next items are unusual. I believe that they are vintage spun wool animals. They are also made with felt and pipe cleaners. I can’t find these exact items online but similar items seem to be selling for about $10 each. They are only about 3″ tall. When you hunt through the hard good bins there are all these small items that go to the bottom of the bins. Sometimes you can finds Littlest Pet Shop animals or Playmobil figures. Today I found these.

P1390623

I picked up two bags. One is a Victoria’s Secret cosmetic case. The second is a vintage red leather bag marked Cristian Made in Italy.

I picked up a few more vintage items from the bins including a metal mid century wall organizer in rough shape,

P1390638

a hexagonal lampshade featuring botanical flower artwork,

P1390634

and a funky melamine tray from Ikea.

P1390642

Those are the highlights of what I found there today.  It was a fun trip! Hope you are enjoying some good sales and weather wherever you are!

2 responses to “Thrifty Finds and a Visit to the Bins!

  1. Fonda Rush

    It looks like the bins were treating you well. I can’t wait to see the other piece of jewelry. I hope it’s worthy of its trip to the jewelers! Crossing fingers!

Leave a Reply

