Spring and the Beginning of Sales!

It seems at last that winter is over and the sales are beginning. I went to an estate sale on Thursday after work. Estate sales and the people who run them continue to intimidate me. This one appeared pretty expensive with prices ranging from $5, $10, $20 and $40 on most things I saw that were priced. I picked up a few things that were not priced. She gave me a price of $20 for all so that wasn’t too bad.

The first thing I found was this vintage 1950’s leather purse. This brand Etra doesn’t seem to do very well but because of the iconic style I put it up at $35. It’s dark blue leather with a bright red interior.

 

I found a silk scarf signed Vera. I picked it up because of the vintage abstract art design. Some of the Vera scarves do well and others don’t. I’ve never bought one before.

P1390341

I purchased 4 more small items at this sale including a metal cricket, an empty Tiffany & Co. box, a wooden French nut cracker and a box with some Easter decorations in it. My favorites were these two chicks wearing little straw hats. I’m going to keep these to use for a project.

A church in a neighboring town has a tag sale twice a year and I rarely find anything there but since it starts at 6PM I am compelled to go! This year I bought three items for $12. This cute sailor figure caught my eye. He looked a littler like a Lisa Larson figure. He wasn’t marked but had the remains of two stickers on him. After I researched him for a while I finally learned that he is by an artist from Sweden named Jie Gantofta. I was happy to find him.

P1390303

This FireKing mug is in a pattern called Blue Heaven. Its not worth much but I really like finding mid century atomic items like this.

P1390320

The last item is a tea towel with a patriotic theme and the saying “Don’t Give Up the Ship.” on it. For some reason, my father used to say this. Just around the house. The artist’s name is Mary Sarg. It has a tag that says Belgian Linen. It was too interesting not to take a chance on but that is one weird looking eagle.

P1390349

On Saturday there was a children’s sale that has clothes, toys and books. There is a $10 early bird but this year the prices weren’t too bad. There was also a selection of free plush at the end so that was fun too!

The biggest toy I bought was an Angelina Ballerina theatre play set. It was marked at $6. I’m hoping maybe someone will purchase it for Easter. I don’t see too many available. It has four tiny ballerina mouse figures and lots of accessories.

My son used to love this show so I recognized these figures from Phineas and Ferb right away. They were in a bag for $2. I am hoping for at least $20 for the set.

P1390364

I found a Stay Puft figure from Ghostbusters. Last year I sold a vintage one. This is from 2016 so I hope it will still sell.

P1390378

There are some things at this sale that are not toys. I picked up two plates. The Peter Rabbit plate is enamelware. The Little Prince plate is plastic.

I also picked up a colorful vintage Caboodles case.

P1390400

The lady charged me $20 for everything. After you add in the early bird fee that brings the total to $30. Then I went fishing in the free plush piles. From those I am going to try to sell the following:

A stuffed NYC subway car.

P1390384

A lot of 3 Easter themed plush.

P1390390

And finally, a Jellycat Cordy Roy Aardvark.

P1390394

I’m really happy to be able to list some new inventory in my Ebay store since sales have been sloooooow this week! Hopefully as tag sales pick up so will the sales in my shop! See you next week!

2 responses to “Spring and the Beginning of Sales!

  1. Wendy

    Keen eye, as usual! Love the sailor. I think the purse will do well because it’s navy blue, for spring. Great job!

  2. Thanks! We’ll see. My sales have been slow lately. Maybe some new inventory will help.

Leave a Reply

