Vintage Plush, Frames and a Variety

Is it spring yet? I guess not because it was 9 degrees when I got out of my car this morning to go to a small rummage sale that was close to my neighborhood. Unlike the sale I attended last weekend, this one had no clothes which was great because I don’t usually buy clothes.

There was a table of toys and under the table of toys were boxes of plush. Each was $1. I picked up this Land Before Time Little Foot by Gund. He was probably my best find of the day. I’m hoping to get $25 for him. He’s pretty big at about 15″ and in good condition.

P1390113

I picked up this guy because I thought he was unusual and he had his paper tag. He is  Russell from a show called Once Upon A Forest. He may sell but I’m not sure.

P1390121

Last weekend I picked up two Puppy/Kitty surprise plush at the estate sale I went to and coincidentally I found another one this week. That happens often. I don’t know what it means. This was another dog but unfortunately she didn’t have any babies. The cat from last week sold for $17.99. I didn’t think this one would sell for much. I put it up for $12.99 and it sold in about an hour. Maybe I should be pricing these higher?

P1390125

A friend of mine shared with me that she looks for vintage frames. These were on the $1 table so I picked them up. On the back of each is written “taken 1954.” I’m not sure if the frames are that old too. They seemed a little unusual and in pretty good shape so I took a chance on them. They are only 6″ in diameter and could also be instant relatives for someone.

P1390142

Also for $1 was this wooden candle shelf marked Pine Shop Original. I used “colonial” and “primitive” as key words for it. I hope that helps it to sell. It’s very smooth, nice quality wood. I put $19 on it.

P1390128

There was also a 50 cent table where I picked up a pair of glasses. I picked them up because they had a designers name in them and were an unusual color. I’ve recently seen the value of glasses that have a distinctive color. My mother lives in a health care facility and she was losing her glasses often. They were brown and looked like everyone else’s glasses. They finally got lost and couldn’t be found again. I looked where they kept the lost and found glasses and I couldn’t tell which ones were hers if they were even there. I went with her to get new glasses and we got her pink frames so now they can easily differentiate her glasses from other ones. I don’t know if this will prevent them from getting lost but it will probably make them easier to find!

P1390132

One of my favorite finds of the day was from an estate sale. Everything was pretty picked over by the time I got there. What was still there was expensive but when I went in the attic I saw a box of these with $1 price sticker on them. Sold! My mom used to put these out on my birthday when I had a party and fill them with MnMs. They are little frilly plastic baskets. I just think they are really sweet and nostalgic and I believe they are used as a craft supply.

P1390156

I picked up two items at the thrift store. I saw this Gotz doll in the box and took a chance on her for $20 which is way more than I like to spend. I have sold several Gotz dolls before but we will see about this one. She’s so pretty!

P1390086

I also picked up this colorful tablecloth decorated for Jewish holidays. Comps on this look pretty good. Since it is getting more competitive out there I am really trying to buy a big variety of items.

P1390098

That’s all for this weekend! Spring and more sales are coming!!

3 responses to “Vintage Plush, Frames and a Variety

  1. Fonda Rush

    I love those last things most. The little baskets that hold candy. Yum! I have our old candle holders for our birthday cakes, and they remind me of that 50s/60s time.

    That’s a great idea about getting your mom pink glasses. That’s odd that so many people lose their glasses. You would think they would find a way to make sure the glasses would get back to their rightful owners. There must be something they can do. Would having a glasses holder strap help, I wonder? I’m sure you know the kind. They have little elastic bits that the earpiece fits into, and there is a lanyard-type necklace part that goes behind the neck. If that won’t work, maybe there’s a way to etch names into the ear pieces? I don’t know, but glasses are expensive, and I hate to think that these older people having to pay for another pair.

    • Fonda Rush

      That’s weird…I think the order of the items changed once I hit enter on my comment. Now the plastic baskets are not last. Am I crazy? Weird!

  2. You”re not crazy. I edited it and revised the order. The glasses holder strap is a good idea. So far she hasn’t lost these new glasses. it’s hard because she has dementia and when she doesn’t have her glasses it makes her worse.

Leave a Reply

