Fun Mix of Estate Sale and Thrift Finds

I went to an estate sale near my town this weekend. It was on Friday and since there was a snow day and I work at a school, I was able to go. Like most estate sales I attend, the items they determine as being the good stuff is high priced. They had vintage sports pennants for $20 each and ceramic Christmas trees for $10. I always try to find the things they don’t see value in.

The first thing I found was this pair of decorated cocktail picks and holders. I think they’re pretty kitschy and unique. I have seen a similar set on Etsy where they are asking $18. There must have been a third holder shaped like an eggplant.

p1380791

I was excited to find a box of vintage Hallmark Christmas cards with really cute illustrations. I saw someone on Etsy selling single cards from this set for $4. This box has 22 cards in it.

I think the best find at this sale was a collection of miniature perfume bottles marked Bloomingdales 7 Scents. I am hoping to get $24. I love the tiny glass bottles.

p1380786

The last find was this Mickey Mouse club keychain. I picked it up because it is vintage Mickey Mouse and new on the card. Not worth a lot – maybe $10? The estate man charged me $9 for these 4 items which I thought was pretty good.

p1380777

Thrift store prices are killing me!! I saw these lego head storage boxes and they were $5 each! It looks like they can bring $20 each so I bought them but that’s a lot of money to spend.

p1380737

I love this old rolling pin with green painted handles. It was $2 which is almost like a tag sale price so I bought it.

p1380732

Also marked $2 was this miniature Hello Kitty play set that came in its own box. Super cute. I used to buy this type of toy for my daughter to keep her busy at restaurants.

For another $5 (ugh) I bought this Winx fairy doll because she was still in her package. Similar ones seem to sell for $40 so I took a chance.p1380716

I forgot to mention this charming item which I’m in love with. Its a tiny metal box decorated to look like a house and when you open it up its all illustrated like a dollhouse. It is by artist Dana Kubick. I have sold two other metal boxes of hers. I always want to keep them. This one is only worth about $10 but I only paid $1.

That’s it for this wintery week. Valentine’s Day is almost here! Enjoy!

2 responses to “Fun Mix of Estate Sale and Thrift Finds

  1. Wendy

    Always nice to see your blog, and how you always manage to find something! Yesterday there was only one sale and it was high priced and not worth the drive. The good news is I’ve been selling my old inventory, and that should get me through till spring. Hope you’re enjoying the snow! It will be nice to see the lakes filled up again.

  2. Looks like you’ve been having some good sales. Do you ever go to your local thrift stores?

Leave a Reply

