Best Doll Finds of 2016

I was fortunate to find a variety of vintage dolls this year. One of them was the highest priced item I sold all year and the second highest I ever sold. Here are 10 of them, counting down from the least to most valuable.

Number 10 is a small group of dolls that I thought were Liddle Kiddles but turned out to be called Sweet Treats. I don’t know if they are a type of Liddle Kiddles but I thought they were very cute and similar to dolls I had as a child. I believe I sold them for $29.99.

Number 9 was a doll I found at a church sale. She was $8 but I took a chance because she looked so pretty and her outfit appeared original. After researching her I sold her as a Sweet Sue type doll for $49 or $39. I don’t remember exactly. She was also a walker doll who turned her head when her legs walked.

Doll number 8 was kind of a mystery doll. She was on a shelf at the thrift store for $4. She has a really pretty face and a lovely outfit. I couldn’t find any information about her since she was unmarked. I put her up as a vintage dressed Asian doll for $49 and she sold in 24 hours.

The next doll is Mrs. Frizzle from the PBS show The Magic School Bus. She was new in her box and is hard to find so she sold for $49.99.

p1350177

Number 6 is a Chatty Cathy doll from 1960. She doesn’t talk any more but came with her original coat and one shoe. She sold after a few months, for $49.

P1370086.jpg

I paid $18 for a collection of vintage Strawberry Shortcake mini dolls in a case. I believe one or two of them were relatively rare figures and they sold, after several months, for $65.

P1360402.jpg

When I saw this doll I had a hard time figuring out what she was. Her face and body looked antique but she had plastic arms. After researching I realized that her arms had been replaced and it was a porcelain Armand Marseille doll. She is the oldest doll I have ever found and I thought her face was beautiful. She sold for a best offer of $85.

p1370056

At the end of last January there was an estate sale. I don’t usually source too much in the winter because there are no church or tag sales in my area until spring. I was excited to go to this sale because it said they had dolls. I walked in to a room with about 50 dolls. It was overwhelming because I didn’t know about most of them but I recognized a Sasha doll and purchased her for $5. She sold a few weeks later for a best offer of $165.

My number 2 best doll pick up was a Barbie that I bought for $30. I was unsure about buying her because she was in fair condition and I didn’t really know much about Barbie dolls. I know that when they have solid eyelashes it usually means they’re pretty old. I learned a lot about Barbies by trying to figure out what kind of doll she was. I learned that she was a number 3 Barbie. I thought she was missing a lot of hair but she was a pony tail doll so her hair would have been swept up to cover her bald spot. After being sold and returned, she finally sold for good for $235.

P1350988.jpg

Here she is – the number one find of the year. I learned about Blythe dolls a few years ago and have been on the look out ever since. I found her in a $1 box at a flea market and I didn’t believe that she was the real thing at first. Blythe dolls have huge heads and eyes, small bodies and a pull string that makes their eyes change colors. After many questions and offers, she sold for $500. Woohoo!

That is the list for 2016. I hope you have found this entertaining and informative! Best wishes to all for a wonderful 2017!!

4 responses to “Best Doll Finds of 2016

  1. Fonda Rush

    WOW! on the Blythe doll! I am of the era of the Chatty Cathy (mine was blonde) and the early Barbie doll. My sister had the one with the bubble hair-do, and I had red-haired Midge, Barbie’s friend. I think my sister’s Barbie had the molded plastic eyelashes, but I’m not sure. I still have my Midge. Chatty Cathy…hmmm… I’ll have to ask my mom what happened to her.

    I’m glad you’ve taken some chances and they worked out for you. Best wishes to you in the new year!

  2. Thanks! You are lucky to have had all those dolls. For some reason my mom didn’t want me to have Barbies : ( so she got me Dawn Dolls. I love whenever I can find vintage Barbies because no one can stop me from buying them now!!

  3. Wendy Boccuzzi

    Double Wow! Congratulations! This was a really great blog…I enjoyed seeing all those dolls. Good for you for following you’re gut feelings on the mystery dolls. I think the American Girl doll I sold was my highest priced item of the year at $185. It’s so much fun when you hit it. Well I guess we work on selling off our inventory and wait for tag sales again. Happy New Year Jill! And thanks again for all your inspiration.

Leave a Reply

