Thrifting Time!

Looks like there will be no more big sales for me to go to until the spring. Sigh. So on Saturday I planned to list the back log of items I have. But then I had to go to the post office and while I was out anyway I thought I would pop in to my local thrift store. I don’t mention that place much because I hardly EVER find ANYTHING there. Either the sorting lady is an ebayer or there are local people that jump in there first thing every morning. Something’s going on there. But – guess what? I found some stuff!!

Christmas was 50% off and this Hallmark Ewok ornament set was only marked $1. It’s not a great one but it may sell for $16 – $18.

p1380022

These two items were in the case. They were each marked $3. They looked Scandinavian to me so I got them both for $3 and when I got them home and removed the price sticker they each said Made in Sweden. Why would they put the price sticker right over that information that would help them sell? I think they’re really sweet and they will be part of my Christmas decor until they sell.

p1380029

Toys were 25% off and here’s what I picked up in the toy area.

This is the Brain from Pinky and the Brain. I think it’s the Brain because he looks like he has a big brain. He is from the series Animaniacs. I hoping to get $10 for him.

p1380035

There was a bag marked $2 that had some American Girl doll clothes in it. There was a dress that I thought was a Kaya Pow Wow dress but it turned out to be a home made piece. The shoes might bring in at least $10.

p1380041

There was a Lisa Frank storage box that someone might like to put a gift in. Some Lisa Frank items can do well.

p1380046

The last item I purchased there was this metal train tunnel that looks vintage to me. I don’t know that much about it a will probably put it on auction. I like the way it is painted. It was marked $4. With Christmas at 50% off and the toys being 25% the lady charged me $10 for everything. This sounds low to me. I don’t think she wanted to do the math and I won’t complain.

Earlier in the week I visited my favorite thrift store and bought a brown haired Bitty Baby twin. Sometimes I can get these for $3 because they don’t realize they are American Girl dolls and they throw them in with the regular dolls but this time they saw what she was and so she had a price of $14.99. I bought her anyway and she sold immediately after listing for $44.99.

p1380003

This was also at the thrift store for $5.99. It is an vintage Star Wars Imperial Shuttle from 1985. I was very excited to find it. Now I have to figure out how to ship it and how much it will cost before I can list it!

p1380065

So thats it for the first week of back to thrifting only. Hope everyone is having fun preparing for the holidays and having some great sales!!

Leave a Reply

