Fun with Fill-a-Bag

I went to 2 church sales this weekend and some very expensive tag sales too. Many of the house tag sales that I went to this weekend had prices like $6, $8 and $10. I prefer the $1 – $2 range of the church sales.

On Saturday I went to a church sale that had a fill-a-bag area. Each item was $1 or fill a bag for $2. Hand me a bag please! I didn’t find anything fantastic but I found enough stuff to make it fun and worthwhile. Here’s what I got there:

This is a funny pewter frog ballet pair. I have it up for $12. It’s quite heavy.

p1360966

This blown glass bird is marked Joseph A. Rice on the bottom. I see listings for similar birds that are marked  Joe Rice. I don’t know if this is the same person but I am assuming it is and I have it up for $19.

p1360970

I put this pair of Dacor snorkeling goggles in my bag. I have them up for $14.00.

p1360959

My favorite find in the fill-a-bag tent was this lot of vintage foldable stationery. I remember these from when I was young. All you have to do is fold it up and put a stamp on the back. No envelopes required! I love the designs. I have this up for $15.

p1360954

That was a lot of fun and even if only 2 of these items sell I will still make a good profit on $2.

There was a toy room at this sale where I found a few items. Each item was priced $1. There were 2 Build A Bears dressed like Star Wars characters. I don’t usually sell BAB clothes but Star Wars usually sells so I bought the 2 bears for the costumes.

p1360942

Another find there was this 1985 Pillow People cat. These stuffed toys are from the 80’s and are almost as big as a regular pillow.

p1360997

At another church sale I picked up 3 pairs of designer sunglasses including DKNY, Dolce and Gabanna and Bolle. The sunglasses were 3 for $2.

I also picked up 2 pieces of Joan Rivers jewelry including this cute cherry pin which sold overnight for $19.50, and this watch with a plaid strap. Each of these was $3.

At the collectibles table I picked up this Harry Potter frog shaped tea infuser and this Mid Century Modern owl by Dux. These items were $1 each.

Those were my finds. It was a good weekend except for wasting my time driving to several too expensive tag sales where I bought nothing!

3 responses to “Fun with Fill-a-Bag

  1. Nadine

    You really are a pro at this. Can I ask you a few questions? Do you mainly stick to church sales? Is it because they are cheaper than thrift stores and yard sales? How do you find the church sales? Ads? Craigslist? Also, how do you do your research? Do you read collector magazines or do you just have a great eye? Thank you so much!

  2. I really like church sales because they are cheaper and there is usually such a wide variety of items. In recent years tag sales and the thrift stores have become more expensive around here in the northeast. I look on the internet for sales. There are lots of great sites like Craigslist and the Pennysaver. I buy things I like such as vintage dolls and toys and I get a lot of information by watching resellers on Youtube. I hope this was helpful. It’s a really fun hobby because it’s like treasure hunting!

Leave a Reply

