Diversifying with Fabric, Purses and a My Twinn Doll

This weekend included several church sales, a temple sale and a yard sale. Surprisingly to me the tag sale was were I found the best items – even though this was on the second day of the sale. It was advertised as being a 12 family sale. I wasn’t finding many of the items I usually look for so I checked out the shoes and found a beautiful pair of blue Dr. Martens for $2!

P1350589

Next to the shoes they had some bags. I saw this bag called Pacsafe. I never saw this brand before so I walked up the drive way and looked it up on my phone and found that they sell well. It has some kind of security feature to it. It’s brown with a pretty bright blue interior. They had $3 on it.

They also had some fabric for sale so I picked up this retired Susan Branch fabric called Tea Party. There was about 2 yards of it. She is a writer and a watercolor artist who is very popular. I didn’t know she had fabric too. It sold in 2 days for $29.99.

P1350638

I also picked up this nursery fabric which is very cute.

P1350642

Keeping with the theme of fabric I went to one church sale where I picked up this vintage tablecloth for $2. Unfortunately it has some staining. I recently purchased a vintage tablecloth for myself from Ebay for $39 and have been on the lookout for them ever since. I love the pink and the flowers. I arrived at this sale pretty late and this was my only purchase there.

P1350650

I went to one church sale that was advertised as being huge with “thousands of items.” No truth in advertising here. I was just about 7 people set up with tables. I only found a few Littlest Pet Shop pets and these vintage children’s Disney hats which I think are from the 1970’s. I think they’re pretty cute. They were $1 each.

P1350684

On Sunday there was a sale at a Temple near my house which I have been to every year. I went first to look at the toys on the table. I saw some larger dolls and there was a lady in front of me holding an American Girl Doll! I missed out by a few seconds. There was another large doll lying there which I recognized as a My Twinn Doll. The lady was blocking my way. She was looking at her American Girl Doll and so I rudely reached in front of her to grab the other doll. She gave me a strange look which I guess I deserved but I wanted that other doll. I think ownership at a tag sale occurs when the item is touched by the person. Not when you are standing in front of it. It’s not like I grabbed something out of her hands. I would never do that. I would probably never do that. Anyway – My Twinn Dolls were made in the 2000’s. You got a catalog and picked out the features you wanted your doll to have including face shape, eye color, hair color and hair style. I remember these because the year I got my daughter an American Girl Doll for Christmas, my sister in law bought my niece a My Twinn Doll. The idea is that you customize it to look like your child. Then you can buy matching doll and child outfits. I remember some kind of fiasco where my sister in law didn’t think the doll’s hair looked like her daughters and since she is a hair stylist she started to redo the hair then was unhappy with the whole thing. I think they were able to return it and get another one. These dolls are pretty collectible. Here is the one I got.

I also picked up a large lot of Littlest Pet Shop toys and some Minecraft figures.

Those were the highlights of the sales I went to this weekend. I am looking forward to the Fall rummage sales!!

2 responses to “Diversifying with Fabric, Purses and a My Twinn Doll

  1. Wendy Boccuzzi

    Another great score! I wouldn’t think of buying fabric. Who would think $29? The my twin doll is cute. Defiantly worth the funny look she gave you!

  2. Thanks! The false advertising sale was the Church sale we talked about. Not good.

Leave a Reply

