Mid Century Modern, Star Wars and Vintage Toys

I went to 2 rummage sales this week and a few yard sales. At one church sale they had different colored stickers to indicate prices and I’ve noticed people getting out of control with these lately. I’m good with like 4 colors for  $1, $2, $5, and $10. Although for me, $10 at a rummage sale is pushing it. But the church sale that I went to on Saturday had 10 different colored stickers ranging from 50 cents to $10. Pink was $7, purple was $8. I couldn’t keep track. I just pulled what I wanted and decided to figure it out at check out. I’m glad I didn’t let high prices discourage me because the lady there looked in my bag and said “How does $20 for all of it sound?” and that sounded fine to me. Out the window with the colored sticker prices!

Here’s what I picked up there:

I bought this Polo Red cologne because it was new in the box. I don’t sell much perfume but this seemed like a good deal. I’m going to try to get $24 for it.

P1350184

I didn’t pick up many toys at this sale. One I did pick up was a Ms. Frizzle doll from The Magic School Bus show which my kids used to watch when they were little. I always liked how her outfit matched whatever theme she was teaching. In this case she is wearing a solar system dress with matching earrings. I like the way they made her hair stick up sort of crazy.

The other toys I picked up was a group of Little Tikes items. I was saving a Little Tikes red van and hoping to find some other items to put with it.

P1350232

I also picked up several needlework kits because they were 2 for a dollar. Many of them have little value but once in a while you can find a good one. I picked up 10 and out of that there are 3 I can sell. The rest I will donate.

The sale I went to on Thursday was at a synagogue where I spent about $45. This included a $5 early bird fee. I recognized this Star Wars play set piece because my son had one of these. It had a $.50 sticker on it so it was a no brainer. By itself it really wouldn’t be worth much but as I was walking around I spotted the box on the floor and that gives it value.

P1350127

Also in the toy area I picked up this vintage plush Tigger. He is marked Walt Disney Prod. Japan. I wasn’t sure he was Tigger until I saw the Disney tag.

P1350133

There was a box of cars and some looked vintage. I picked out about 8 that are Matchbox Lesney cars from the 1970’s. They don’t have a lot of value on their own and some are missing parts so I am grouping them all together.

P1350148

My favorite find from this sale is a ceramic poodle by Lisa Larson who was a mid century sculptor. She does a lot of figures and animals and depending on the piece, they can sell well. It has a pretty funky finish.

P1350159

This last item is also a mid century modern piece. I saw it at a tag sale about 20 minutes from my house and didn’t buy it at first. After I got home and figured out how to look it up, I realized I made a mistake and went back to see if it was still there. Usually when I get into this kind of situation – returning to a rummage sale/tag sale/thrift store to buy a piece that I should have bought when I first saw it but didn’t – the item is not there. This time, to my great surprise, it was still there. It is (apparently) a piece of 3D Brutalist Nail wall art and might bring upwards of $100. It will be a bear to ship but I’ll happily do it if it sells.

P1350213

Those were the highlights of my hunting for the week! Hope you are all finding exciting pieces out there!

 

Leave a Reply

