Sasha, Mdme Alex Dolls, Steiff +

There were two church sales that I attended this weekend. One has become so popular that there are huge crowds of people there. It also took me nearly 2 hours to get there plus they were only letting a few people at a time into the toy tent which was were I was waiting to go. It’s hard to wait until 9:00 when the sale is supposed to start, and then wait again until a lady tells you it’s your turn. I was quite crowded in there and practically the only place where I could look was in these big bins of plush. Here are some of the items I pulled out to sell. I think I paid between $1 and $.50 per item.

This sweet German Shepherd puppy is by Steiff. He has his ear button, tag and a red collar that says American Kennel Club on it. He is not made of mohair like the most desirable Steiff are. He has soft fur.

P1340872

This Red Sox Wally mascot stuffed toy is vintage.

P1340869

This is a Beanie Baby Godzilla with white eyes. Godzilla in many forms is a good seller. I think he is from 2001.

P1340877

I think my best find at this sale was this doll. I was trying to look for a mark on her when I was buying her and I thought I saw some letters on the back of her neck. When I got her home and cleaned her up a bit I saw the letters L E X on the back of her neck and knew that was Madame Alexander. She is a vintage Madame Alexander doll from the Little Women Series. She is bigger than most Madame Alexander dolls, at 14″. Unfortunately she has no clothes but she is in pretty good condition with a pretty face.

 

I made one pretty bad mistake at this sale when I spent $10 on a RC car that was in the box but the box was very taped up. I didn’t open it and when I got home the only thing inside were some wheels and extra pieces. I will still try to sell those to cover what I spent. I should have opened it but I didn’t have the room or energy to do so at the time.

The next day I went to a sale that was much better, closer to my house and not nearly as crowded. It was also a church sale. They had a whole plastic kiddie pool filled with plush and dolls and that’s where I bought most of my items. I was really excited/sad to find 2 Sasha doll that someone tried to punk out by severely cutting and dying their hair. The larger one also had crazy makeup on which thankfully washed off but they had also pierced her ears!! I am grateful that there are people that can fix these dolls and I was able to sell them both for a combined price of $70.

I purchased this old mohair bear. He is only 6″ tall. I was hoping he was a Steiff but he had no ear button.

P1340927

Also in the plush pile was this character from Where The Wild Things Are.

P1340932

My best find of the day was this vintage Steiff terrier. I was very excited to find him and he’s in good condition. So happy no one cut and colored his hair! Or pierced his ears!

P1340935

I don’t have too much luck finding legos anymore but I spotted this bag and saw that there were Christmas trees in it. It is from a set for a Christmas Village Toy Store. I don’t know if all the pieces are there since it didn’t come in the box and there was no manual, but it may do well.

This last funny item is a Kermit the Frog notepad from 1977. It was only a quarter so I had to get it!

So that should keep me busy listing for a while!!

Leave a Reply

