Turning It Around with Vintage Toys and Holiday Sales

Last week I was a little down on the whole ebay/reselling thing but this week things have gone much better. I sold the American Girl Doll Saige and she was returned but then quickly sold again. I finally hit a good sale for finding items (thank you Wendy) and my sales have picked up and items I’ve had listed for several months are beginning to sell!

I went to a Children’s Sale on Saturday where I picked up most of my items for the weekend. There were lots of toys and also lots of people. The first item I spotted was this Muppet puppet from FAO Schwarz. I love these things because they look and feel like the professional puppets used on Sesame Street and puppets are my thing. I bought one of these for my birthday during a trip into the city where I went to the Muppet Workshop at FAO Schwarz and made one. It was $99. So I recognized this right away and it was only $2. It won’t sell for $99 but maybe between $30 and $40. I think he’s really cool.

P1310374

There was some plush there for $1 each so I bought a few. This is a Kitty Kitty Kitten by Tyco. This is the second one I bought this year. I think the other one sold for $19. It purrs when you hold it.

P1310393

This is a Jellycat plush. It was designed in London and these are collectible. The first Jellycat I ever found was also at this same sale 2 years ago. It is pretty small but may be one of those items that children use as a lovey and then the parents need multiples of them if one gets lost or damaged. He may sell for $30.

P1310379

I found this small cute mouse puppet by Folkmanis. He may sell for $10. This My First Dolly by Gund is very cute too but also may only bring $10.

P1310383 P1310387

I had a few American Girl finds too. The first was at the same sale where I got all of the above items. The last two are from a community sale that I went to later in the day.

First there is this American Girl 6″ mini doll. I believe her name is Caroline. I was happy that she came in her complete outfit.

P1310403

Coincidentally (these seem to happen often) at the later sale I found another American Girl mini doll. This one is named Emily and unfortunately she doesn’t have her shoes or socks.

P1310399

The best American Girl find was this Bitty Baby for $1. I am hoping to get $25 for her. Unfortunately I don’t have an outfit for her. The Bitty Baby books and bottle are items I had picked up and was saving until I found a doll to go with them.

P1310407

There were some other purchases that I haven’t photographed yet. If I can I will do an update later this week.

Sales have been picking up the last few days. The colorful Wedgwood items that I have had listed for quite awhile finally all sold to three different people. There was a yellow cup, a pink heart box and two purple pieces. I paid $7 for all and they sold collectively for $82.

So, this weekend Ebay was fun again. Like anything else, reselling certainly has its ups and downs.

2 responses to “Turning It Around with Vintage Toys and Holiday Sales

  1. Great finds! I can’t believe that Muppet was only $2 when they cost $100 in store. What a bargain!
    And yes, that mini doll is named Caroline. 😉
    I love those types of animal puppets-they look so lifelike and real! Whenever we’re in a store that sells them, my sister and I always have to play around with them for a few minutes. XD
    *Sunny

  2. Yes! I play around with them too. They’re very irresistible! But then I usually end up buying one!!

Leave a Reply

