Vintage Pencils, Plush, Pads and a Picture

This weekend I went to a few sales on Long Island. One was a boy scout sale that started way before I got there so I only found a few things. I picked up this Bear in the Big Blue House cookie jar. This is from a show from about 15 years ago. It would be a great item except that this one has quite a few areas of chipped paint and some chips in the ceramic too. Still it’s cute and rare so I put it up for $25. It also says “Yum! I smell cookies” when you open the lid and it went off continuously in the car on my way back from that sale so that was no fun.

P1310105

My favorite find there was this vintage needlepoint of a ballerina. I think it is very pretty and well done although it is dirty. I put it up a little high though because I think it’s so nice.

P1310089 P1310091

The next day at a sale at a Temple I found this cute address book. I love the illustration of the little girl. It looks like it is from the 1960’s or 1970’s and is marked Japan on the back. It is unused.

P1310080

At a tag sale I picked up these boxes of vintage pencils. Each was only 50 cents so I took a chance on them. I think the graphics on the boxes are great. They are made in the USA.

P1310085 P1310088

I bought 3 plush items. I found this giant Animal from the Muppets at a tag sale. He is 28″ tall. At the same sale I picked up this vintage Teddy Beddy bear by Fisher Price.

P1310069 P1310073

The best plush I found was this Flying Monkey from the Wizard of Oz. He has a felt jacket and velvet wings and is very nice quality from Disney.

P1310076

I had another plush find last week from the thrift store. He is Chewbacca from 1977 which I believe is the year that Star Wars came out. He sold in a few days for $39. He had a lot of hair to brush out. I really try to brush and fluff up the plush items before I photograph them.

P1310065

That’s all for this week! It has been fairly warm here in the northeast. Nice for outdoor shopping. I hope it holds out a little longer!

7 responses to “Vintage Pencils, Plush, Pads and a Picture

  1. wp2014

    You really have an eye for plush. Love the Flying Monkey! and the Chewbacca is way cool…never have see one of those before.

  2. Very nice finds. I also love the graphics on older office items such as pencils, tacks, etc. Dianne

  3. Very unique treasures! The flying monkey is great!

  4. I love that Bear cookie jar! 😀 My mom used to get those old Bear videos (yes, I said videos, I am very old 😉 ) out of the library for my sister and I to watch. We had some of the books too. 🙂
    Those vintage pencils look so neat! I’d love to have some for myself. 😉
    *Sunny

Leave a Reply

