Trying New Categories

Today I went to a fund raiser for a school. I went to this sale last year and strangely enough it seemed to me that some of the items were the same as last year. I wasn’t finding much but then I found a Candyland Castle game in the game area. The last Candyland Castle game that I found several months ago was complete except for one missing blue X. Guess what? This game is complete except for one missing blue X. Isn’t that a coincidence or synchronicity or something? So I’m doing the same thing that I did last time which is to purchase a replacement piece on Ebay so I can complete the game and sell it. The only other item I found in the toy area was this Fisher Price Happy Apple chiming toy which I have sold before and can bring around $20.

P1290782

I wasn’t finding much else so I starting looking in areas that I don’t usually look in like the hat, tie and scarf area. There were a few very pretty hat boxes but I left them. I found this interesting scarf with an illustration of a jockey on it. If my research is accurate it may be from The 21 Club which is a restaurant which has been around since the 1920’s and they used to give out scarves to some customers. It has some stains and a small hole but it still may have a good value.

P1290788 P1290790

 

In the luggage area I picked up this Ralph Lauren duffle bag. It is used but still in good condition.

P1290805

This marble elephant reminded me of the mid century modern F. Mannelli travertine elephant that I picked up at a sale last year. The picture of that piece is in the November 2 2014 post. It certainly has a similar shape but I haven’t seen any other Mannelli pieces in marble so it may just be in his style. I paid $8 for it which was a lot but I am hoping it will sell well.

P1290817

I think he is meant to hold letters in those slits. He also has two holes on top where pens could go. He’s in good condition too.

Today is Friday and I didn’t have a lot of time for tag sales. I went to three local sales and they were they kind of sales that make me never want to go to a tag sale again. It’s a long story. I think that it’s not that all tag sales are bad of course but that the majority of the sales in my area are not great. That’s why I end up driving so much. Anyway- I will be traveling for a few days so that is all the shopping I can do for now. Hope everyone is enjoying the summer!!

2 responses to “Trying New Categories

  1. That’s a nice looking elephant, I hope you do well with it. I had no idea a Happy Apple could bring $20. Glad I have mine.

  2. It is surprising since so many vintage Fisher Price toys have little monetary value any more. Thanks for your comment!!

Leave a Reply

