Some Finds and Some Mistakes

Let’s start with the mistakes. I went to a church sale on Friday that is usually very small and not very good but since I love church sales, I went anyway. I found a few small items. I saw a wooden play set in a nice wooden box and it said Woodland Fantasies on it. I looked it up but I was not standing in front of it when I looked it up so I looked up Woodland Fantasy and couldn’t find it. It was only marked $3 but I didn’t buy it. When I looked it up again, with the correct spelling, after I got home I saw that this set which was an eskimo and arctic animal set, sells for about $60. : (. The other mistake I made on Friday was that I didn’t realize that 5 minutes away from the small church, a much bigger church was also having a sale. It was not in the paper. I noticed it the next day because the sale I went to on Saturday was also in the same area. Two big missed opportunities.

Moving on – today I went to a pretty big church sale. There were quite a few people there with multiple large bags. These people were intense. The prices were very good. Many things were only priced at 25 cents so I picked up things that I thought looked interesting in a lot of different categories.

One of my favorites, though not that valuable, is this light blue Domino Confectioners Sugar canister. I think its really cute and I love the colors. There are two other larger ones apparently that go with it.

P1290241

In the same box with this, which was a box under a table, I found these two candy tins. I like how they have metal handles. All these items were marked 25 cents.

P1290249

In the toy area I picked up this funky looking doll for 25 cents. She is a Uneeda doll from a line called Little Miss Sophisticates. In excellent condition they can go for $50. Mine has a bit of an eyelash issue since she is missing most of the lashes on one of her eyes. She does have part of her original outfit. Her hair is kind of messy. I will put her up for auction and see what happens.

P1290261

I picked up a small plush Beaker toy. I have sold larger versions of him for about $30. This one is only 12″ tall. Along the muppet line I also found this cool puppet. She is called Tingo. I think she looks kind of like Zoe from Sesame Street. She is a Jim Henson puppet but I’m not sure what show she is from. She is very fluffy and colorful.

P1290267 P1290296

I found an older Pluto toy and a Mickey Mouse clubhouse camper play set. My daughter used to love sets like this when she was little.

P1290280 P1290286

In the collectibles area I picked up this pull string music box which plays the theme from Love Story. It is marked Edle W. Germany. I also picked up a small carved figure of a boy with a pig. This is marked Anri Italy. I don’t know if it is missing a piece or if it is complete.

P1290263 P1290274

Those were the highlights. Can’t let mistakes get you down. Keep moving forward!!

One response to “Some Finds and Some Mistakes

  1. I hope the happy finds balance out the disappointment!

Leave a Reply

