You Win Some and You Lose Some

I headed to a community sale last Saturday. It was advertised as starting at 9:00 but it opened at 8:30. The earlier you arrive at a sale, the better of course. I didn’t get there until 8:50 but I managed to find some good items. The best item I found was a wooden Dansk combo salt and pepper shaker. Mid century modern items are very popular right now and this item was marked $1. It sold for $50. I picked up some handbags. I don’t know that much about bags but I grabbed 2 Lesportsac bags and one Coach bag that was marked $5. I probably should have grabbed more bags because when I was on line the lady behind me had taken all the rest of the bags! I also made a huge mistake in not purchasing 3 Le Creuset pots that were there. I think they were marked between $5 and $10 each. I thought they were to heavy and would be too costly to ship so I did not buy them. This was a very bad decision because, as I found out later, Le Creuset pans often sell for between $100 to $200 and up!! I also went to a sale at a historical society where I purchased a plush Beaker from the Muppets and a pewter Disney figurine. The stuffed animals where Beaker was had a sign that said “Stuffed Animals 50 cents” but when I brought Beaker up to pay for him it seemed he had a price tag of $5 on him! I was bummed but I bought him anyway which was a good thing because he sold for about $30. So – there were some good buys and some bad decisions last week. 

 

Image

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

I forgot to mention this classic style Gund Winnie the Pooh that was at the community sale for $3. I’m hoping to get $20 for him!

One response to “You Win Some and You Lose Some

  1. wbdesign2014

    Nice buy on the Dansk. That’s the best…buy it for 1 and sell it for 50. Way better than the stock market. You’re selective, and not bringing home a lot of junk. I can’t wait to see what you get for the purses!

Leave a Reply

